Titan TP Pro 8400 Massage Chair Review

Titan TP Pro 8400 Massage Chair Review

8.7

Back Massage

8.0/10

Foot Massage

8.5/10

Air Compression Massage

8.5/10

User Flexibility (Height/Weight)

9.0/10

Value For Money

9.5/10

Pros

  • With A Height Range Of 4'10-6'3 ft, This Chair Can Properly Accommodate A Variety Of Body Types!
  • Probably The Most Reasonably Priced L-Track Chair I've Yet To Come Across!
  • Speed Adjustable Foot Rollers Add An Extra Dimension To Foot Massage!

Cons

  • None!

Was A Popular Model Then, Is A Popular Model Now!

Today I introduce to you the Titan TP Pro 8400 massage chair. A model that was released by Titan back in late 2014. Before we go any further, who are Titan?

Titan, Osaki, and APEX are different massage chair brands that all belong to the same company!

Majority of Titan, Osaki, and APEX chairs are all assembled and manufactured out of a factory based in China. “But should I be cautious about buying a massage chair that’s made in China?” Yes 20 years ago, in 2019 absolutely not. The massage chair industry in China has drastically improved over the last couple decades, and in terms of quality, they’re not far off from the Japanese!

That being said, the Titan Pro 8400 has gone through the “time” test, and what was a popular massage chair 5 years ago, still is today!

 

7 Features That Made The Titan TP Pro 8400 Massage Chair Famous!

#1 It’s A High Performing Massage Chair With A Reasonable Price Tag!

What makes it high performing?

50” L-Track quad rollers massage from the neck all the way right down to the hips.
State of the art body scan technology that works on users ranging from 4’10-6’3 ft.
Equipped with 24 airbags, this thing will compress and massage everything the rollers can’t!

If you’re confused with the above 3 features, don’t fret. I plan on talking about each of these in greater detail later in the post.

In terms of overall massage intensity, the Pro 8400 can do a good 7-8 on a scale of 1-10.

 

Titan TP Pro 8400 Massage Intensity

I wouldn’t quite call it deep tissue per say, but it’s pretty darn close. However, what gets me most excited about this chair is its price. It currently retails on massage chair deals for $2,495. Not too shabby for a chair that comes with a 50” roller stroke!

#2 Extended L-Track (50”) 2D Rollers!

These days everyone in the massage chair industry is talking about rollers. What type of roller does a chair have? What’s the roller stroke? What intensity can the rollers massage at?

So much attention is given to the rollers, because in many ways the rollers define how good/bad a massage chair is!

And that’s not an exaggeration. A well designed set of rollers largely contributes to a positive massage experience, just as a set of poorly designed rollers contributes to an ineffective massage experience. So what in the world are rollers anyways?

Rollers are a complex mechanical contraption consisting of donut shaped discs mounted on a spindle. Kinda hard to explain in words, so here’s a picture to help you better visualize!

Titan TP Pro 8400 Rollers

Ahh so that’s what a set of rollers look like! Currently there are 3 different types of roller technologies you can find in a massage chair: 2D AKA 2 dimensional, 3D AKA 3 dimensional, and 4D AKA 4 dimensional.

4D is the most complex, and 2D is the least complex.

Important: even though 2D rollers are the least complex in terms of technology, they’re still incredibly effective at massage. More importantly, because 2D rollers are an older technology, massage chair manufacturers have over the years gained tremendous experience in understanding how to get the best out of 2D rollers!

Here's How 2D Rollers Function!
2D Rollers Move Up/Down & Left/Right

As mentioned earlier, 2D stands for “2 dimensional”, and that’s exactly how these rollers work. They move in 2 dimensions. In other words they move vertically from neck to hamstrings and vice versa, and they move horizontally from one side of the back to the other. The arrows in the image above depicts these 2 movements.

 

What about roller track/stroke? What in the world does that mean?

Roller track/stroke is simply the distance a set of rollers can traverse!

For the Titan Pro 8400 this distance is 50”. Because 50” is relatively large, we often refer to this as an extended L-Track. “Extended” refers to the long 50” tracking range, and “L-Track” refers to the “L” shape made as the rollers move from neck to hamstrings. Look at the image below and you’ll see why it’s called L-Track!

Titan TP Pro 8400 Extended Roller Track

#3 Comes Stacked With A Total Of 24 Airbags

Rollers may be the most critical component to a massage chair, but airbags are not far behind! Airbags serve 2 main purposes:

They pin the body down so that the rollers are able to effectively massage with maximum point of contact.
They simultaneously inflate and deflate thereby providing a compression massage to areas not covered by the rollers.

The Titan Pro 8400 comes loaded with a total of 24 airbags. These are located in various areas where the rollers can’t reach. For example, there are shoulder, arm, calf, and foot airbags strategically placed on either side of the chair.

Titan TP Pro 8400 24 Airbags

If you find the airbags are squishing you to death, you can always adjust the airbag intensity to a lower setting!

#4 Dual Foot Rollers That Are Speed Adjustable!

Foot rollers are a must have in my opinion, as compression massage alone is simply not effective enough on the feet. There needs to be an element of rolling from heel to sole. The Titan Pro 8400 comes equipped with dual foot rollers located on the bottom of the foot ottoman. Both rollers provide a kneading massage to the bottom of the feet.

Titan TP Pro 8400 Speed Adjustable Foot Rollers

But there’s something especially different about the Pro 8400’s foot rollers….they are speed adjustable! By varying the speed of the rollers, you vary the intensity of the overall massage. This is a game changing feature as far as I’m concerned! It’s also something you won’t find in many massage chairs.

#5 Comes With 5 Preset Massage Routines (Auto Modes)

These are ache/relief, demo/relax, lower body, upper body, and comfort.

Comfort—A low intensity mode that’s designed to loosen up the body and get the blood flowing.
Ache/Relief—A high intensity mode that’s designed to alleviate pain by applying deep pressure.
Demo/Relax—A demo of all other modes. An especially useful mode to try out in the beginning!
Lower Body—As you’d expect, this is a massage routine focused on the lower extremities.
Upper Body—Focused on the neck, shoulders, and upper back areas of the body.

Selecting one of the 5 auto modes is straightforward. Each of the 5 are directly available from the remote control as you can see below.

Titan Pro 8400 Auto Modes

#6 Space Saving Recline Technology

This is a feature common to most Osaki, Titan, and APEX chairs. Space saving recline is a simple feature where the chair slides forward during any recline motion. In essence, you end up requiring a lot less clearance space from the back of the chair to the wall.

The Titan Pro 8400 requires a minuscule 3” clearance from the back of the chair to the wall!

This is especially great for chair placement, because you’re no longer as constrained for space.

Titan TP Pro 8400 Space Saving Recline

#7 Other Features—Heat Therapy & Zero Gravity

Let’s start with heat therapy. In my mind, heat therapy is another must have. Aside from making your back feel all warm and tingly, the application of heat actually loosens up and relaxes muscle and tissue. Think of it as an aid to massage. In many ways, it compliments the rollers and airbags, and makes the overall massage that much more effective.

The Titan Pro 8400 comes fitted with dual heating pads in the lower back lumbar area!

It would be nice to also have heating pads on other areas of the chair such as the feet for example. Maybe that’s one area Titan could improve on for future designs!

Titan TP Pro 8400 Heat Therapy

What is zero gravity? Sounds like some sort of fancy NASA lingo!

Zero gravity is a NASA inspired recline position in which an angle of 128 degrees is formed between the torso and legs.

The zero gravity position has been scientifically studied and proven to be one of the most optimal positions for massage. In this position the spine experiences reduced levels of stress and strain. As such, massage becomes most effective at zero gravity. So what does this “zero gravity” position look like? Check out the image below!

Titan TP Pro 8400 Zero Gravity

 

Titan TP Pro 8400 Massage Chair Specifications

  • Titan TP Pro 8400 Massage Chair Specs
  • Roller Type: L-Track
  • Roller Length: 50 Inches
  • Total Airbags: 24
  • Upright Dimensions: 45″H x 31″W x 60″D
  • Recline Dimensions: 33″H x 31″W x 74″D
  • Chair Material: High End Synthetic Leather
  • Recommended Height Range: 4’10 – 6’3 ft
  • Maximum Recommended Weight: 265 lbs
  • Power Usage: 250 Watts

 

Titan TP Pro 8400 Massage Chair Pros & Cons

Pros—The Good!

Can't Find A Better Deal!
As mentioned earlier, the Titan Pro 8400 is currently on sale for $2,495 on massage chair deals. Based on my experience and after having thoroughly reviewed 30 odd chairs, you’d be hard pressed to find a better price for an extended L-Track chair! This will become glaringly clear in the comparisons.
Fantastic User Flexibility!
The Pro 8400 is able to accommodate a user height of 4’10-6’3 ft. and a maximum weight of 265 lbs. That height range has me impressed! It’s very rare you find a massage chair that can accommodate up to 15” in height variation. Kudos to the Titan team for thinking about this during the design phase!
Speed Adjustable Foot Rollers!
Speed adjustable foot rollers are fairly new to me. However, now that I think of it, it totally makes sense. If you’re able to adjust speed on the main back rollers, why would you not want to do the same on the 2 feet rollers! It’ll be interesting to see how things change in future designs. Maybe one of these manufacturers will come out with 3D foot rollers that protrude in/out. Now that would be something!

Cons—The Bad! (I’m Drawing A Blank!)

After giving it much thought, I honestly can’t think of anything I dislike about this chair. Sure I’d have liked to seen more auto modes, or heat therapy for the feet, but I understand that those additions would probably result in a higher priced chair. For what it is, and how much it costs, there’s really nothing negative I can think of to tell you about.

 

Let’s Compare The Pro 8400 To Other Massage Chairs!

My favorite part of writing reviews is when I do these comparisons. These side by side comparisons will give you an idea of how all the different chairs perform. Depending on what’s important to you, you can then decide accordingly!

Since the Pro 8400 is a 2D L-Track chair, we will be comparing it against 3 similar chairs. Specifically, we will be comparing it against the following:

Osaki OS Pro Omni
Osaki Pro Omni Specifications

One of Osaki’s newer models. The Pro Omni was released about a year ago in April 2018. From an aesthetics standpoint, this is definitely one of the nicer looking massage chairs I’ve come across. However, it’s price is not so attractive. Maybe because it’s a fairly recent release? Couldn’t tell ya for sure!

APEX AP Pro Ultra
Pro-Ultra-Comparison

As far as 2D L-Track massage chairs are concerned, the Pro Ultra is my personal favorite and has been for quite some time now. Everything about this chair is on point, whether it’s the 50” L-Track or the incredible calf rollers. Let’s see if the Titan Pro 8400 is able to give this bad boy a run for its money!

Osaki TP 8500
TP 8500 Comparison

With 53” of roller stroke, the TP 8500 is a serious contender! It’s also got a decent number of airbags and can massage at a pretty high intensity. One of the bigger concerns with this chair is its limited user flexibility, especially in the height department. Because of this, it’s probably not suited for taller individuals.

Let’s look at some of the key differences!

  • Titan TP Pro 8400
  • $$

    Price
  • 50″ L-Track

    Roller Track & Type
  • 7-8

    Overall Intensity
  • No

    Calf Rollers
  • 24

    Airbags
  • Yes (Spring Loaded)

    Extendable Foot Ottoman
  • 4’10 – 6’3 ft & 265 lbs.

    User Height/Weight
  • Osaki Pro Omni
  • $$$$

    Price
  • 50″ L-Track

    Roller Track & Type
  • 7-8

    Overall Intensity
  • No

    Calf Rollers
  • 30

    Airbags
  • Yes (Spring Loaded)

    Extendable Foot Ottoman
  • 5’0 – 6’2 ft & 240 lbs.

    User Height/Weight
  • APEX AP Pro Ultra
  • $$$

    Price
  • 50″ L-Track

    Roller Track & Type
  • 8-9

    Overall Intensity
  • Yes

    Calf Rollers
  • 30

    Airbags
  • Yes (Automatic)

    Extendable Foot Ottoman
  • 5’0 – 6’3 ft & 265 lbs.

    User Height/Weight
  • Osaki TP 8500
  • $$$

    Price
  • 53″ L-Track

    Roller Track & Type
  • 7-8

    Overall Intensity
  • No

    Calf Rollers
  • 36

    Airbags
  • Yes (Spring Loaded)

    Extendable Foot Ottoman
  • 5’0 – 6’1 ft & 285 lbs.

    User Height/Weight

 

Should You Buy The Titan Pro 8400?

Hopefully the comparison table above gives some perspective on how the Pro 8400 stacks up. That being said, is it worth the $2,495?

Earlier I was rambling on about the price of this chair, and how I think it’s so affordable. Now you can see why! If you’re looking for a 2D L-Track chair, the Titan Pro 8400 is a fantastic unit to consider! However, if you’re willing to dish out a couple hundred more, then go for the APEX Pro Ultra instead. For an extra $500, you get a higher overall intensity, a set of calf rollers, and a foot ottoman that extends automatically. Is it worth the extra $$$? That’s up to you to decide!

 

“Can I Get A Discount”?

Before we go any further, here’s a piece of advice:

Get into the habit of asking for discounts and deals!

You never know unless you ask! This one tip has saved me some serious coin not only when I bought my massage chair, but for a ton of other things. It’s mind blowing how seldom people ask this question!

Pssshh 5%, that’s nothing! Actually it is quite a bit of savings. For a chair that costs $2,500, that’s a $125 saving. Not a game changer, but hey $125 off ain’t bad at all!

 

What About Assembly?

Nice thing about the Titan Pro 8400 is that it ships mostly fully assembled. The only thing you need to do is attach the foot ottoman and you’re pretty much golden! For further instructions, I would suggest you consult the user manual. Click here to read the user manual!

 

And Shipping?

If you buy from massage chair deals, there’s 3 options for shipping:

Option #1: Curbside Shipping
This is the only shipping option that costs nothing. As you would expect, it’s very basic. The chair will ship directly to your residence. However, carrying the chair inside and assembling and installing it is not part of the service.
Option #2: White Glove Delivery
This option costs $179. White glove delivery is basically the full schbang. In other words, the chair gets delivered to your home, fully assembled wherever you like, and installed so that it’s running correctly. It’s a full set up.
Option #3: Threshold Delivery
Last but not least, threshold delivery is an extra $75. Threshold delivery is when the chair is taken into your home or residence but not assembled or installed. It’s the medium between curbside and white glove delivery options.

Everyone picks differently. If you’re older and less mobile, maybe go for the white glove delivery. If lifting and assembling the chair isn’t going to be an issue for you, pick curbside.

 

I Hope That Answers All Your Questions!

I hope this review post was insightful. If you enjoyed reading, please consider sharing this post on your social media channels. Lastly, if you have any unanswered questions, feel free to reach out by leaving me a comment below. Best of luck in finding the right massage chair!

Titan TP Pro 8400 massage chair images were used with permission from Massage Chair Deals & Osaki Massage Chair

About Eve

Just an average bloke intrigued by massage and its incredible benefits. Oh, did I mention I also own a massage chair? More on that in the blog posts!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *